Bomberos Scholarships

2020 Chavez Scholars​

Grand Prize Winners

Miriam Garcia

Valeric Raygoza

Scholarship Recipients

Andrew Acosta

Richard Chen

Victoria Dinov

Ava Downey

Aaliyah Felix

Brendan Lockie

Bibiana Saldana

Hennessy Perez

Due to Covid-19 the 2020 Cesar Chavéz Commemorative Breakfast was unfortunately canceled. The Sponsors of the Breakfast wanted to continued to support our event and the scholarship contest. In an effort to maintain social distancing measures, our students submitted their essays and the judges read them remotely. On July 25th, the winners were announced and were able to collect their rewards.


Thank you to San Diego Firefighters Local 145 for allowing us to host our Scholarship Drive at their location. This event would not be possible without the generosity of our Sponsors and Partners.

Esequiel & Sheryl Sanchez Founders Scholarship

Click the Link below to view the complete photo gallery. 

2019 Chavez Scholars

Grand Prize Winner- $1,000 + Laptop

Deyri Chacon Perez 

Escondido High School

12th Grade Winner- $500

Maria Eusebio

San Dieguito Academy

11th Grade Winner- $500

Lydia Zhong

Canyon Crest Academy

10th Grade Winner- $500

Bennet Hochner

Sage Creek High School

Community College Scholarship - $1,000 + Laptop

Mario Alberto Montoya

Southwestern College

2019 Chavez Sponsors

Robert Kennedy Sponsor

Wheelhouse Credit Union

Pete Velasco Sponsors

The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Showtime Audio-Video

Larry Itliong Sponsor

San Diego Gas and Electric

Dolores Huerta Sponsor

San Diego Community College District

Picket Line Sponsors

UA Local 230

OPEIU Local 30

IAFF Local 145

San Diego and Imperial Counties Labor Council


Fred Ross Table Sponsors

San Diego City College

Firefighter Aid

Planned Parenthood

Small Business Sponsors

Teamsters 481

Gomez Law Firm

Eder Photo

Solorio Film Productions

Pozos Creative Communications

The Line Printing Company 


Day of Service Sponsors

Rally for Reilly

Cesar Chavez Elementary

Congratulations to Hennessy Perez, the first recipient of The Esequiel & Sheryl Sanchez Founders Scholarship. The Sanchez family has graciously donated proceeds towards the Bomberos Scholarship Program. 

Bomberos de San Diego

PO Box 1392

Chula Vista, CA  91912

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon